Pozen Visiting Professors

The Pozen Center brings a senior scholar or practitioner with a distinguished career in human rights to campus each year for one quarter to teach a seminar and offer a series of public lectures. The visiting professorship was created in 2009 through a generous gift from Richard and Ann Pozen, and seeks to advance the Center’s broader goals of bringing the theory and practice of human rights in productive and creative conversation.


Jasbir Puar

Fall 2021

Associate Professor of Women’s & Gender Studies, Rutgers University

View Full Bio

Dean Spade

Autumn 2019

Associate Professor at Seattle University School of Law

View Full Bio

Carol Anderson

Spring 2019

Charles Howard Candler Professor of African American Studies, Emory University

View Full Bio

Visiting Artists

Spring 2017

Lola Aria, Jelili Atiku, Tania Bruguera, Sandi Hilal, Carlos Javier Ortiz, Alessandro Petti, and Laurie Jo Reynolds

View Full Bio

Judge Lech Garlicki

Autumn 2016

Professor of Law, Warsaw University

View Full Bio

Kevin Bales

Autumn 2015

Professor of Contemporary Slavery, Wilberforce Institute for the Study of Slavery and Emancipation, University of Hull UK

View Full Bio

Monica McWilliams

Spring 2015

Professor of Women’s Studies, Transitional Justice Institute, University of Ulster

View Full Bio

Eric Stover

Autumn 2014

Faculty Director of the Human Rights Center and Adjunct Professor of Law and Public Health, University of California at Berkeley

View Full Bio

William F. Schulz

Spring 2013

President and CEO of the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee

View Full Bio

Elizabeth Borgwardt

Spring 2012

Associate Professor of History, Washington University in St Louis

View Full Bio

Rodolfo Stavenhagen

Spring 2011

Professor of Sociology, Colegio de Mexico

View Full Bio

Justice Albie Sachs

Winter 2010

View Full Bio